|O'Fallon Historical Society
|O'Fallon, IL 62269-0344
Hours: Wed, Fri & Sat 1-4 pm
|The latest addition to the museum is the Coal Exhibit room in
the basement. From its founding in 1854 to the close of St.
Ellen mine in 1960, coal mining was a vital part of O'Fallon's
economy. Understanding the role coal played is crucial to
understanding O'Fallon's history during its first century.
This exhibit was the Eagle Scout project of Tommy Fulford,
O'Fallon Boy Scout Troop 46, who spent nearly a year
working on it until its completion on Sept. 24, 2017. Not only
does it display artifacts relating to coal mining, but it gives the
feel of actually being in a mine.
Click on the photo to the right to watch Tommy give a virtual
tour of the room. Thank you Tommy for adding what has
become a must-see part of any visit to the museum!
|Click on photo above to watch YouTube video of
Tommy Fulford giving a tour of the coal exhibit.